Dairy Allergy

Eating Edible knows the importance of understanding a dairy allergy,  identifying dairy-free food, and developing a dairy-free diet. We have delicious dairy-free care packages for kids with food allergies — especially created for students and campers.  Our dairy-free care packages are perfect for kids with food allergies whether they are college students or at summer camp.  Students and campers with food allergies find it difficult to find allergy friendly foods to snack on. We offer delicious gluten and dairy-free food — dairy-free desserts, dairy-free snacks, and dairy-free cookies. Dairy-free foods can address lactose intolerance too.

A dairy allergy can cause a vast array of reactions such as lisps, poor balance, and bed wetting. Gross and fine motor skill coordination can be affected by not following a dairy-free diet. Up to 40% of all kids who suffer from chronic ear infections have a milk allergy. Simply following a dairy-free diet can deal with this!

What is a Dairy Allergy?
If you have a dairy allergy that means you are allergic to casein. A person with a dairy allergy cannot ingest casein. You will need to develop a dairy-free diet because that will mean no casein.

Reading Labels
Casein is the protein found in milk and must be avoided in a dairy-free diet. It is imperative that you read. If casein is on the label, it is not  a dairy-free food.

You won’t find casein in any of our allergy-friendly care packages. All of them can be eating by kids with food allergies. All ingredients in our dairy-free care packages for students and campers are clearly labeled, as they are on all our care packages.

Despite the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA), current U.S. food labeling regulations allow items to be labeled as “nondairy” on the package even if they contain casein. The labeling regulations do require that the ingredient statement on nondairy products indicate the presence of casein or caseinates in the actual ingredient statement on the package. The regulation states: “When foods characterized on the label as ‘nondairy’ contain a caseinate ingredient, the caseinate ingredient shall be followed by a parenthetical statement identifying its source. For example, if the manufacturer uses the term ‘nondairy’ on a creamer that contains sodium caseinate, it shall include a parenthetical term such as ‘a milk derivative’ after the listing of sodium caseinate in the ingredient list.”

Therefore, if a product is labeled “nondairy” on the front of the package, read the label carefully. Do not assume that it is a dairy-free food! Always check the ingredient statement to look for any milk-derived ingredients.

Intolerance versus  Allergy
The main difference between an intolerance and a food allergy is how the body reacts to the trigger food. When experiencing a food intolerance, the body reacts with a negative physiological or metabolic response but the body’s immune system is not affected. In contrast, a food allergy is an adverse immune system reaction that occurs after eating a certain food. The immune system responds to the food allergen as harmful and attacks it.

Lactose Intolerance versus Dairy Allergy
Lactose intolerance as compared to a dairy allergy is a good example of the distinction.

Lactose intolerance is the result of your body not being able to digest the milk sugar, lactose, because you do not make enough of an enzyme called lactase.  Without this enzyme, you can suffer from several possible digestive symptoms:
•    Stomach cramps
•    Bloating
•    Flatulence
•    Diarrhea
•    Headaches
•    Nausea

These symptoms may seem similar to those cause by a dairy allergy but they are not because the reaction is not due to your immune system response. With a lactose intolerance, the problem can actually be helped by supplementing lactase.  It is important to note that this may help if you suffer from a lactose intolerance, but it will hurt you if you have a dairy allergyIf you’re not sure if your symptoms are caused by an intolerance or an allergic response, go to your doctor for help.

These Products Contain Milk & Are Bad For Lactose Intolerance and Dairy Allergy:*
Butter [artificial butter, artificial butter flavor, butter, butter extract, butter fat, butter flavored oil, butter solids, dairy butter, natural butter, natural butter flavor, whipped butter];
Casein & caseinates [ammonium caseinate, calcium caseinate, magnesium caseinate, potassium caseinate, sodium caseinate, hydrolyzed casein, iron caseinate, zinc caseinate];
Cheese [cheese, cheese flavor (artificial and natural), cheese food, cottage cheese, cream cheese, imitation cheese, vegetarian cheeses with casein];
Cream, whipped cream;
Curds;
Custard;
Dairy product solids;
Galactose;
Ghee;
Half & Half;
Hydrolysates [casein hydrolysate, milk protein hydrolysate, protein hydrolysate, whey hydrolysate, whey protein hydrolysate];
Ice cream, ice milk, sherbet;
Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate;
Lactate solids;
Lactyc yeast;
Lactitol monohydrate;
Lactoglobulin;
Lactose;
Lactulose;
Milk [acidophilus milk, buttermilk, buttermilk blend, buttermilk solids, cultured milk, condensed milk, dried milk, dry milk solids (DMS), evaporated milk, fat‐free milk, fully cream milk powder, goat’s milk, Lactaid® milk, lactose-free milk, low‐fat milk, malted milk, milk derivative, milk powder, milk protein, milk solids, milk solid pastes, non‐fat dry milk, non‐fat milk, non‐fat milk solids, pasteurized milk, powdered milk, sheep’s milk, skim milk, skim milk powder, sour milk, sour milk solids, sweet cream buttermilk powder, sweetened condensed milk, sweetened condensed skim milk, whole milk, 1% milk, 2% milk];
Milk fat, anhydrous milk fat;
Nisin preparation;
Nougat;
Pudding;
Quark;
Recaldent;
Rennet, rennet casein;
Simplesse (fat replacer);
Sour cream, sour cream solids, imitation sour cream;
Whey  [acid whey, cured whey, delactosed whey, demineralized whey, hydrolyzed whey, powdered whey, reduced mineral whey, sweet dairy whey, whey, whey protein, whey protein concentrate, whey powder, whey solids];
Yogurt (regular or frozen), yogurt powder

May Contain Milk:
Natural flavoring;
Flavoring;
Caramel flavoring;
High protein flour;
Lactic acid (usually not a problem);
Lactic acid starter culture;
“Non-dairy” products may contain casein;
Rice cheese;
Soy cheese

*Kids with Food Allergies